On Princesses and Profes

In Chile, teachers are profesores. Like Princess Katherine, who was caught touching up a post-operation photograph of her and her kids, profes are expected to look the part.

As I looked closely at the blurred lines and Photoshopped effects in this week’s paper, I thought of all the efforts made, big and small, to present a less vulnerable version of ourselves to the world. And how in ways big and small we avoid the blemishes in the name of dignity.

This afternoon I’m leading a professional learning conversation with a large group of teachers. I photoshopped myself this morning in grabbing a relatively new shirt and thinking twice about socks. I’m no royalty, but I try hard as an instructional coach to be what people need me to be. When people start noticing the little abnormalities in the picture they have of me, do they know how hard I’m trying to hold up an image of what I think a coach is supposed to be?

One thought on “On Princesses and Profes

  1. What a thoughtful post! It is so interesting to think about this idea of “photoshopping” ourselves and our lives. I find this line particularly thought-provoking: “I thought of all the efforts made, big and small, to present a less vulnerable version of ourselves to the world. And how in ways big and small we avoid the blemishes in the name of dignity.” This post is going to linger with me for a long time!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started