Trying to Muster

Muster up your courage. You are the bird that stayed on the line a little longer. Don’t take flight just yet. Grip the line with your little claws. It is time to write, and if you lift off now, you’ll join the flutterings of the fitness flock or the dinner time dodos or the go to bed gulls.

Here on the line you can squawk about a day that slowed down just enough for a paragraph or two. And before you take flight, you can puff out your feathers and be proud that you were the brave bird who lingered a little longer on the line to look in and out.

3 thoughts on “Trying to Muster

  1. I like the bird metaphor for writing. I seem to be doing much line gripping with my little claws. Maybe I am putting too much pressure on myself. Your “paragraph or two” made me think – I can do this! Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The word “bird” in your teaser drew me in. I unexpectedly thought of my grandpa, who had many birds. Then, your writing made me sigh. I loved the brevity, cleverness, and familiarity of your words. I read this slice three times.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started